Kannada, Kannadiga, Kannadigaru, Karnataka,

Kannadigarella ondaagi Kannadavannu ulisona, kalisona and belesona

Rashtra Kavi::Committee selects GSS unanimously

Committee selects GSS unanimously
DH News Service Mysore/Bangalore:

Noted poet G S Shivarudrappa’s name has been recommended for awarding of the third ‘Rashtra Kavi’ title by the selection committee headed by noted litterateur Prof De Javaregowda.

Highly placed sources, on the condition of anonymity, disclosed that an unanimous decision was arrived at in this regard at the committee meeting held on Thursday at Kannada Bhavan in Bangalore and the recommendation had already been forwarded to the government. At the meeting, chaired by Prof De Javaregowda, Suvarna Karnataka Cell Secretary I M Vittalamurthy, Kannada and Culture Department Commissioner K R Niranjan, Kannada Development Authority Chairman Siddalingaiah, Hampi University Vice Chancellor B A Vivek Rai, writer Kamala Hampana were present, according to the sources. Also, the sources said that poet K S Nisar Ahmed sought prior permission for his absence while Baragur Ramachandrappa failed to turn up. However, writer Siddalinga Pattanashetty has not been attedning the meetings.

Though Jnanapeetha awardee Da Ra Bendre’s name was mentioned at the meeting, the committee turned it down as the guidelines did not permit giving the title posthumously. The sources also added that the idea was dropped as the selection could have become more difficult to decide among the illustrious list of writers like Da Ra Bendre, Shivarama Karantha and Pu Thi Narasimhachar. Pampa Award was also cited as an example in this regard.

Some of the members mooted the names of writers K S Nisar Ahmed, Channaveera Kanavi and Chandrashekara Kambara for consideration, it is said.

The sources revealed that most of the 25 literary persons who were consulted by the committee had also suggested Prof G S Shivarudrappa.

When contacted on Friday, Mr Nissar Ahmed said, after Kuvempu the title can go to no one but late Da Ra Bendre.

He claimed that the argument that only a living poet could be chosen as the State poet was just an imperial baggage. When titles like ‘Bharata Ratna’ are conferred posthumously, there should be no reservations on conferring the ‘Rashtra kavi’ title posthumously. The title can be given every five year once.

He said poet-laureates like Kuvempu and Da Ra Bendre were trendsetters and stalwart. While Kuvempu was a modern poet, Da Ra Bendre was the master poet who imbued the folk elements into poetry. Therefore, this time round, there was no giving the title to anyone but Da Ra Bendre.

Ms Kamala Ham Pa Na declined to comment on the various names that were considered. The committee looked into the works of the poets in contention and the awards and titles that have hitherto come their way, she said.

On the question of bestowing the honour posthumously, she noted, that the related question would then be – ‘for how long’ should will the award rest with the posthumous party? “Suppose we give it to Da Ra Bendre, when will the next selection be made”, she queried.


October 22, 2006 - Posted by | Bangalore, Karnataka and Kannada, Nanjundappa Report

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: