Kannada, Kannadiga, Kannadigaru, Karnataka,

Kannadigarella ondaagi Kannadavannu ulisona, kalisona and belesona



Bangalore, Feb. 9 (DV)- Kan-nada Sahitya Parishat has instituted a new award — Nrupatunga Award. This is considered to be greater than the Jnanpith Award in the field of literature.

Nrupatunga Award is a State-level award which will be given every year to those who contribute diversely for the well-being of the State. Kannada Sahitya Parishat is all set to present the first award this month.

The award sponsored by Bangalore Metropolitan Transport Corporation (BMTC) has been titled as “BMTC Nrupatunga Award”. BMTC has instituted an endowment of Rs. 1.5 crore in Kannada Sahitya Parishat. This endowment carries the highest amount among the other endowments in Sahitya Parishat.

Jnanpith Award carries a cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh. Nrupatunga Award is greater than Jnanpith Award as it carries a cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh and one rupee.

Former VC of Mysore University and Nadoja Awardee Prof. D. Javaregowda has been selected for the first award, which will be given in the third week of February.

Efforts were made to invite President Pratibha Patil to present the award. As she is unable to accept the invitation due to pressure on time, Dr. Abdul Kalam will present the award.



ekavi mysuru  gowrava adhykasharu de ja gow



February 9, 2008 - Posted by | EKAVI MYSORE

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: