Kannada, Kannadiga, Kannadigaru, Karnataka,

Kannadigarella ondaagi Kannadavannu ulisona, kalisona and belesona

A poem by K.V.Puttappa (kuvempu)

A poem by K.V.Puttappa (kuvempu)

(Translated from Kannada)

bhAratAmbeye janisi ninnoLu dhanyanAdenu dEviye

ninna prEmadi beLedu jIvavu mAnyavAdudu tAyiye

rANiyandadi mereva siritanavihudO EnO ariyenu

kAmadhEnuvinante bayasida phalava koDuveyo ariyenu

enna angagaLellavu ninna sompanu ballavu

ninna sangave parama mangaLavembudinitanU mareyenu

kundu korategaLihavu ninnoLu embuvaLalanu ballenu

hindakuLidavaLemba nindeya sahisi nondihe ballenu

Adaroliyenu anyara chiNNavolidiha dhanyara

kundu korategaLirali mahimaLu nIne anyaranollenu

ninna kangaLa puNya kAntiyolenna kangaLa terevenu

ninna ankada mangaLAngaNadalli naliyuta beLevenu

ninna mahimeye barevenu; ninna hesarane karevenu

ninna sEveyoLaLiva bhAgyake sakala bhAgyava torevenu

Oh mother, Blessed I am, to be born to you

Blessed is my soul, to be nourished by your love

I don’t care if you are adorned like a queen

I don’t care if thou grant every wish, like surabhi

All I know is my courtyard is filled with the fragrance

Of your sacred presence

Of the criticisms about your lacking, I am aware

The ridicules of being backward, you had to bear

Those adorned by gold, I shun

I regard you as the glorious one

In the luster of your eyes I open my eyes

With joy I’ll grow in your holy land

Thy glory I’ll pen; thy name I’ll call

For the fortune of your service, I reject all

July 8, 2007 - Posted by | ANKOLA taluk, KUVEMPU

7 Comments »

  1. It would have been nice if the original poem was put up in kannada. Its very difficult to read the kannada in english script

    Comment by pavandownthememorylane | October 7, 2008 | Reply

    • Ya True

      Comment by Muvazima | April 27, 2011 | Reply

  2. nmma kuvempu
    nimge nanna namana

    Comment by ramesh | July 14, 2010 | Reply

  3. great sentiments for karnataka! kavi and kannada begins with the same letter!! hats off to kuvempu

    Comment by Punitha Peter | November 1, 2011 | Reply

  4. happy kannada rajyothsava to all here!

    Comment by Punitha Peter | November 1, 2011 | Reply

  5. Its better to be in kannada to understand easily and we can feel the lines……..

    Comment by shivamurthy- Arsikere | January 8, 2012 | Reply

  6. Hi, Anybody can share the poem Nade mundhe Nade Mundhe Nuggi nee Nade Mundhe. I am desperare to read the poem. I tried every where i didn’t get it.

    Comment by Pavan | June 27, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 116 other followers

